Thai Basil

Thai Basil
http://thaibasil.ca/

Food: *
Service: **
Ambiance: *
Times visited: 3
Recommended: No
Price for 2: $45

My recent visit to Thai Basil reminded me why I write this food diary in the first place: because I REALLY can’t remember my dining experiences unless I write them down.

I’ve been to Thai Basil 3 times now and each time brings back forgotten memories of the last. However, now that my memory has been jogged, I recall that Thai Basil has:

-Really nice servers
-Good ambiance
-Okay food

IMG_2881

IMG_2878

IMG_2877

IMG_2882

 

 

 

 

This time around we tried the spring rolls, tom yum gai, pad thai, curried baked mussels, and a cocktail. The spring rolls were nothing special, the pad thai was a bit too sweet, greasy, and underspiced (although better than most of the other stuff I’ve tried), the mussels were overcooked, and the cocktail just tasted like fizzy lemon vodka (there was lemongrass soda, mint, and rosebuds in it– but not enough for their taste to come through). The curry on the mussels was quite delicious, and the soup was also yummy.

Thai Basil is a pleasant place to eat, but the food just doesn’t do it for me. Still looking for a thai place in Toronto…

This entry was posted in Dine Under $50, Viet/Thai and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

