Mengrai Gourmet Thai

Mengrai Gourmet Thai
http://www.mengraithai.com/

Food:  (Did not meet expectations)
Recommended: No
Price for 2: $40 (2 pad thai and 2 rolls)
Times visited: 1
Other: Dine in or takeout

Mengrai Thai started off great. I called to place a take-out order, and the guy on the phone was friendly and helpful, repeating back my order, confirming any allergies, and telling me it would be ready for pickup in 15 minutes (quick!). I arrived a tiny bit early and was graciously seated and offered a complimentary glass of wine. I was pleasantly surprised when my order came that the food was so affordable: original pad thai and regular pad thai with chicken and shrimp (each $10.95), spring rolls ($3.75) and salad rolls ($2.75). 

However, things went downhill from there. Despite my clear instructions that I was allergic to green onions, both orders of pad thai contained liberal amounts. The vegetarian spring rolls were very freezer-to-frier, and the cold rolls were bland and chewy. Both were served with a generic sweet-chili sauce. The regular pad thai was the reddish, sweet, saucy kind, and honestly wasn’t that bad compared to others I’d had, but just wasn’t amazing. The original pad thai had a weird oily flavour and the fish taste was too strong for me. Overall, the word “gourmet” in Mengrai’s name is pushing it to the extreme as far as the food quality is concerned. 

Back to the drawing board for decent thai food in Toronto…

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

